Ronan’s experience at the CoolestProjects 2014

Ronan showing his medal and certificate

Ronan showing his medal and certificate

This year Ronan Coakley had an extremely busy year coding at CoderDojo. He represented Clonakilty at the National Scratch Finals where he won the award for Best Animation for his amazing project Catch the Fly .

Ronan speaking to Will Goodbody from RTE at the National Scratch Finals

Ronan speaking to Will Goodbody from RTE at the National Scratch Finals


 
Soon after he attended the CoolestProjects at DCU in Dublin. He documents his experience at the CoolestProjects here.

DSCF0128

My name is Ronan. I am nine years old. I went to the Helix with my game CATCH THE FLY 2, for the Coolest Projects Awards on the 7th of May.
First I had to register my project. After that I set up my game in a large room. About one and a half hours later, a judge came to me. I told her all about my game that I had made. When the judge left, I went over to see Kate and how she had got on with her Galileo board.

Ronan showing his project at the CoolestProjects

Ronan showing his project at the CoolestProjects

At five o’ clock, we went to the Awards ceremony. First up on stage, was the Scratch contestants. There were ninety five Scratch projects which was the biggest category. I was one of these.

I received my yellow belt for entering the competition. I was delighted with this. I sadly did not win.

I lifted the Liam MacCarthy Cup which was borrowed for a few hours from the GAA Dublin Museum and was on show in the Helix. It was very heavy and it was HUGE!! I was over the moon to lift the Liam MacCarthy Cup.
 

Ronan lifts the Liam MacCarthy Cup. His other passion is GAA!!

Ronan lifts the Liam MacCarthy Cup. His other passion is GAA!!

The next day I attended a few talks with my Mum. One talk was about making my own App.

I am delighted with myself for going to the Coolest Projects. I have already started my next game for the Coolest Projects 2015.

Ronan hanging out with the CoolestProject winners and their milk carton robot from Italy!

Ronan hanging out with the CoolestProject winners and their milk carton robot from Italy!

Thank you Ronan for your story! On behalf of CoderDojo Clonakilty we would like to congratulate Ronan on his great year so far at CoderDojo and also congratulate all the ninjas who have achieved so much this year. We hope you are all enjoying your Summer holidays and look forward to seeing you back at the Quality Hotel for CoderDojo 2014/2015 in September. Watch this space for more updates.

Leave a Reply

